Composition Award for Young Composers

Austrian Choral Association

The European Academy for Choral Conductors 2012 in Graz, Austria organised by ChVÖ, Chorverband Österreich (Austrian Choral Association) in cooperation with KUG, University for Music and Performing Arts Graz, Austria is a project in cooperation with ECA-Europa Cantat offering talented young conductors the opportunity to develop their conducting qualities and to get to know new choral repertoire of a high standard in intercultural dialogue. The EACC12 composition award wants to inspire young composers to create new and innovative choral compositions. The prize winning pieces will be performed and spread internationally by the participants of the European Academy for Choral Conductors.

Composition Requirements

The work must be a new original a cappella composition for mixed chamber choir (minimum 16 singers). Level: for the advanced amateur or semiprofessional choir. The piece must be innovative regarding to the aspects of contemporary choral music in the 21st century. Duration: 3 to 4 minutes. Texts: can be chosen freely but must be free of copyright restrictions. Texts may be in any language, if in other than English, German, Latin or Italian please add translation and phonetic transcription.


The winning composition will be awarded EUR 1500. The jury can give further prizes or decide to distribute among more than one composition. Chosen pieces will be performed in a public concert in Minoritensaal in Graz on Saturday, September 15, 2012 by the choir of the European Academy for Choral Conductors 2012 in Graz.


The jury will comprise five internationally renowned Austrian experts in choral music, conductors as well as composers:
Franz Jochum, Gerd Kühr, Erwin Ortner, Johannes Prinz, Wolfram Wagner.
The decisions of the jury are final and cannot be appealed. The jury will judge blindly, receiving the scores through Chorverband Österreich without composer identification.

Composers Eligibility

Composers of any nationality are invited, but must be under the age of 35 (born later than Oct. 1, 1977). Each composer has the right to enter more than one composition, but each composition must be entered separately.

Entry deadline: March 1, 2012

Homepage: Austrian Choral Association
Submission Form: Download (PDF)